British and Irish Lions 2021 Squad Announcement

Warren Gatland named his squad for the 2021 British and Irish Lions tour on Thursday 6th May 2021.

Alun Wyn Jones will captain the side on his fourth tour, the Welshman taking over from Sam Warburton. The second row has won a world record 157 international caps, featuring in the last nine Lions Test matches, including captaining the team to victory in the decisive third Test against Australia in Sydney in 2013. He also led Wales to 2021 Guinness Six Nations victory.

The squad includes 10 players each from Wales and England, with Scotland and Ireland both providing 8 men. 

2021 British and Irish Lions Squad

Backs: Josh Adams (Wales), Bundee Aki (Ireland), Dan Biggar (Wales), Elliot Daly (England), Gareth Davies (Wales), Owen Farrell (England), Chris Harris (Scotland), Robbie Henshaw (Ireland), Stuart Hogg (Scotland), Conor Murray (Ireland), Ali Price (Scotland), Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales), Finn Russell (Scotland), Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland), Anthony Watson (England), Liam Williams (Wales).

Forwards: Tadhg Beirne (Ireland), Jack Conan (Ireland), Luke Cowan Dickie (England), Tom Curry (England), Zander Fagerson (Scotland), Taulupe Faletau (Wales), Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), Jamie George (England), Iain Henderson (Ireland), Jonny Hill (England), Maro Itoje (England), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), Wyn Jones (Wales), Courtney Lawes (England), Ken Owens (Wales), Andrew Porter (Ireland), Sam Simmonds (England), Rory Sutherland (Scotland), Justin Tipuric (Wales), Mako Vunipola (England), Hamish Watson (Scotland).

The coaches were revealed on 13th April. Gregor Townsend (Scotland), Robin McBryde (Leinster Rugby), Steve Tandy (Scotland) and Neil Jenkins (Wales) will assist Gatland for the Tour to the home of reigning world champions.  


The tour kicks off in Edinburgh on 26th June when the Lions play Japan at BT Murrayfield, the first time they have played on home soil since 2005.


Saturday, July 3: British & Irish Lions v Stormers - Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town
Wednesday, July 7: British & Irish Lions v SA ‘Invitational’ - Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
Saturday, July 10: British & Irish Lions v Sharks - Kings Park, Durban
Wednesday, July 14: British & Irish Lions v South Africa 'A' - Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
Saturday, July 17: British & Irish Lions v Bulls - Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Saturday, July 24: Springboks v British & Irish Lions - FNB Stadium, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 31: Springboks v British & Irish Lions - Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town
Saturday, August 7: Springboks v British & Irish Lions - Ellis Park, Johannesburg

Buy your official Canterbury British and Irish Lions gear or Asics South Africa Springboks kit online at First XV, and get free UK delivery on all orders over £50.

To really set it apart, why not personalise your new shirt, with shirt printing starting at just £3

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.